The Invention of Flight

Where is my pant-seat?

It’s fifty feet below –

I’m soaring high, and left it

down there in the snow.

Perhaps you think that

what I say is trite,

But I’m Clement Ader,

I think I just invented flight!

© Lis Goodwin 2016

We’ve all heard about the Wright brothers, but did you know others flew first? Look at Clement Ader’s flying machine from 1890!

Ader.jpg

Wowser. Here’s what MentalFloss has to say about him:

“French inventor Clement Ader distinguished himself as the first to develop stereo sound, among his many engineering innovations. He was the first to achieve self-propelled flight, with a batwing aircraft powered by a steam engine. His first flight was around 50 meters, on October 9, 1890, a full 13 years before the Wright Brothers! He then designed a better flying machine that reportedly flew 200 yards in 1892. A public demonstration in 1897 apparently ended badly, and Ader lost his Department of War funding.” (source)

So that was my inspiration from today’s challenge ‘Fifty‘ – I hope you enjoyed it!

Best wishes

Lis Goodwin – your voice coach

www.gloriousvoicecoaching.com

Leave a Reply

