Quotations from Charles Bukowski

I came across this poet yesterday, yet rather than share his poetry with you today, I want to share some of his burning quotes with you. They are the words of a specific state of man (I once knew a man like him) – these have a special quality to them, and those who have felt a love, loss and loneliness, may well resonate with these quotes.

“A love like that was a serious illness, an illness from which you never entirely recover.”
Charles Bukowski, The People Look Like Flowers at Last

“I remember awakening one morning and finding everything smeared with the color of forgotten love.”
Charles Bukowski, What Matters Most is How Well You Walk Through the Fire

“I stopped looking for a Dream Girl, I just wanted one that wasnt a nightmare.”
Charles Bukowski, The Captain is Out to Lunch and the Sailors Have Taken Over the Ship

“there is always one woman to save you from another and as that woman saves you she makes ready to destroy”
Charles Bukowski, Love is a Dog from Hell

“each mans hell is in a different place:
mine is just up and behind
my ruined face.”
― Charles Bukowski

“People are strange: They are constantly angered by trivial things, but on a major matter like totally wasting their lives, they hardly seem to notice.”
― Charles Bukowski

“I didnt have any friends at school, didnt want any. I felt better being alone. I sat on a bench and watched the others play and they looked foolish to me.”
― Charles Bukowski

Not poetry, but poetic in their own way. Certainly thought provoking. You can read Bukowski’s poetry on www.poemhunter.com

Best wishes

Lis Goodwin, your voice coach

www.gloriousvoicecoaching.com

Leave a Reply

