Why is confident communication so important?

I have been blessed to have gone through the process I now use with the youngsters I teach, to learn how to ‘talk proper’ – pardon my humour! πŸ˜‰

I’ve written before about the knock on effect of this in stopping the bullying I had experienced every day throughout my schooling:

“Having endured many years of bullying, right from my earliest school years, I began to see a reduction and then a cessation of it. Looking back I can see nothing else which was different, except this change in my voice, which was subtle, but showed an inner confidence, which I had clearly lacked before.”

There is an indefinable something that I gained along with this ability to communicate clearly. There was a confidence which built beautifully and subtly as I learned, and which then acted as a foundation I could rely on.

There have been many opportunities and interactions during which my voice, and my confidence in communicating, have opened doors I might not have expected.

One such interaction was the day I wrote an email of complaint to a CEO of a large PLC. (You can do this too – ceoemail.com), and ten minutes later, to my surprise, my telephone rang, and I found that I was talking to the CEO herself.

It was apparent from our exchange that she was speaking to an equal. She took my complaint very seriously and promised to get the issues looked at and have someone else call me again. Whether I am her equal in achievement – no matter – she could hear from my voice just how equally matched we were (we actually sounded very alike!)

How would you have handled a call from a CEO? How would you have felt? Would your communication have let you down?

This isn’t some skill I have developed myself – I was taught. I learned this at an age when it became second nature to me. I now teach my pupils by the very same method today.

Perhaps your child might like to become the CEO – even more reason to build good communication skills now.

Get in touch today – grab the opportunity quickly while the special holiday discount is still available. It runs out on Monday!

Back to School – August special offer

Best wishes

Lis Goodwin – your voice coach

http://www.gloriousvoicecoaching.com

Leave a Reply

