Beachcomber – a poem by George Mackay Brown

Monday I found a boot –

Rust and salt leather.

I gave it back to the sea, to dance in.

 

Tuesday a spar of timber worth thirty bob.

Next winter

It will be a chair, a coffin, a bed.

 

Wednesday a half can of Swedish spirits.

I tilted my head.

The shore was cold with mermaids and angels.

 

Thursday I got nothing, seaweed,

A whale bone,

Wet feet and a loud cough.

 

Friday I held a seaman’s skull,

Sand spilling from it

The way time is told on kirkyard stones.

 

Saturday a barrel of sodden oranges.

A Spanish ship

Was wrecked last month at The Kame.

 

Sunday, for fear of the elders,

I sit on my bum.

What’s heaven? A sea chest with a thousand gold coins.

 

George Mackay Brown

 

Note: A kirk is a church in Scotland

I like the simplicity of this poem – it’s sparse but descriptive all the same. Lots of room for vocal expression here too. I hope you enjoy it!

Best wishes

Lis Goodwin, your voice coach

Leave a Reply

